1997 Volvo 850 GLT

Click Logo to go to
Home Page

10 responses to “1997 Volvo 850 GLT”

  1. Wonderful history, thanks for sharing Mr T… That is definitely a keeper… Enjoy.

  2. Fantastic looking car Jay. Great to read it’s story and see the car last weekend. Hope you don’t mind me sharing this on the Volvo enthusiast club page for other to see

    • Thank you David. The 850 is becoming a rare sight on the roads now and needs all the help it can get to preserve it for future generations to enjoy. Please share the story in the hope it may encourage more people to save 850s rather than send them to the car park in the sky.

  3. Loved to read this. What a motor and superbly looked after. Lanoguard, just what I used. My 2007 V70 is a n/a 170bhp import, finding its history via supplied service receipts was interesting. It has only done sixteen thousand kilometres in total even now. Where on earth did you get the Ghent badge, love that! Thank you for sharing, fascinating read.

    • Thanks Trevor for your kind remarks, I’m glad you enjoyed reading about my 850. I was fortunate enough to speak to the original owner’s wife Val and she put me in touch with her son David who was more than happy to assist me with the history of the car. I was given a huge pile of receipts with the car so it was a case of filling in the blanks which David kindly helped me with.

      I was lucky when I found a dealer in Germany that sold me the East Flanders badge. I would have preferred a Ghent badge but there was nothing available at the time and East Flanders is the province in which Ghent is the capital city.

  4. What a great story Jay, thanks for sharing with us. For me it must be one of the best usable classics around. I had the pleasure of seeing it in the flesh last week at the SDCCC show and it is credit to you.

    • Thanks Aidan, Credit has to go to the Parsons family, if it hadn’t been for the care they lavished on the 850 it wouldn’t be here in the condition it is in today. All I have done is to let it achieve its full potential with a little bit of TLC. I doubt there is a better ‘original’ 850 in the UK

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started